Hades-sama no Mujihi na Konin / Lord Hades’s Ruthless Marriage by Yuho Ueji

I’m not normally the type for straight-romance, but the schtick of Hades-sama no Mujihi na Konin / Lord Hades’s Ruthless Marriage is that Hades is really NOT interested in marriage. Unfortunately, that rat b*astard Cupid stuck him right int he forehead with an arrow (as you can see on the cover of the first volume.)

This whole thing is unbelievably stupid, but I have to admit that I enjoyed it anyway.

SPOILERS

.

.

.

.

Look at this terrifying creature (with a literal pansy on his a$$). A person can suddenly understand everything that’s wrong with Greek and Roman mythology, if you imagine this little f*cker zipping around intentionally causing mischief.

This is basically the plot.

It is a comedic re-imagining of the literally classic story of Hades/Pluto and Kore/Persephone in which neither Hades nor Kore are particularly looking for love, but some little twink sticks his nose in. In this version, Kore is hiding out in Hades in order to escape her meddling mother, Demeter. Hades, having been shot in the head by Cupid, blindfolds himself in order to escape falling in love with the next person he sees. Thinking he’s alone, he removes the blindfold and Kore literally falls into his lap.

Cue: shojo roses and flowers in bloom!

Only, neither of them fall instantly or madly in love immediately, but Hades had requested that anyone who removes the arrow can be granted one wish. Possibly also to be a brat, Kore asks that he take seriously the search for a wife.

This completely bums out our gloomy hero, but a god is good to his word, so the hijinks ensue as Hades’ entertains absolutely all other callers, instead of the one we all know he’s destined for.

I mean, there are three volumes and I will probably stop here, but it’s actually kind of funny, particularly if you are a Greek/Roman mythology fan. I’m always interested to see how different gods get portrayed, and currently I find Poseidon to be the hottest.

Do I recommend? I dunno. I mean, silly is sometimes just what the doctor ordered, so maybe? I waffled about my feelings about the art. Sometimes, it felt too busy for me, but every once and a while I was struck by a hot/nice shot like the one above.

I kind of feel like Cupid’s butt steals every scene it’s in? But, is that worth picking it up? Up to you.

Leave a comment