One Lovely Blog Award

one lovely blog.jpg

Okay, wow, this is a surprise. I’ve been nominated by Yousoro!

I have a tendency with any blog, but especially this one, to feel like I’m shouting into the void (even though I know I have very loyal followers. Waving at you, AuntyA!) So because of my fragile blogosphere-ego, to be tagged like this is amazing! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

I, in turn, nominate:

The Otaku Judge

Jade’s Escape

And, now, following the “rules” of this award, I will list 7 things about myself and then post the list of rules.

 

7 Things about Myself

  1. I’m old enough to be your mom.  (I’ll be 50 in 2017.)  This is particularly noticeable because I run in anime/manga fandom, where the median age seems to be about 15. Sometimes, I worry that I’m that creepy old lady; other times, I get to have a PM on Tumblr wherein I legitimately inspire some young person to know that you don’t have to give up on fandom when you “grow-up.”
  2. In the place I live, the air gets cold enough to freeze any exposed skin in minutes.  Minneapolis/St. Paul has had recorded temperatures colder than the surface of Mars.
  3. This blog started as a podcast, hence its name. ‘Cast…. ‘Kast…get it??  There are now YouTubers using the same name. This is not me.
  4. When I applied to college, I had to list my religion as “other.”  I was raised secular humanist Unitarian Universalist.  Despite that, I attended a Roman Catholic grade school and a Lutheran college.
  5. A friend of mine won the Hugo Award for short fiction. I went to WorldCON with her and because of that, I got to sit next to George R. R. Martin at the award ceremony. (Technically, his handler/assistant sat between us, but IT TOTALLY STILL COUNTS.)
  6. When I was a kid, if you’d asked me what I was going to be when I grew up, I would have told you: lawyer. I even started out in political science as an undergrad.  But, secretly in my heart of hearts, I wanted to DRAW (not write, see below for the irony,) for Marvel Comics. At the above mentioned college, most people would have insisted I was an art major because of how I dressed and how much time I spent in the art department.  My first grown-up job was teaching drawing and writing cartoons to 6 to 10 year old kids. I have a DeviantArt account under my fannish name.
  7. Speaking of fandom, I am a writer of both copious amounts of fan fic and novels. Like, published novels. Yes. I have my own Wikipedia entry.

Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you and link their blog
  • Add the One Lovely Blog Award to your post
  • Share 7 things about yourself
  • Pass this on to as many people as you like (max 15)
  • Include this set of rules
  • Inform your nominees

 

4 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. If I knew such things were possible I would have nominated you for one too! Thank you for all that you do.
    Glad to keep the conversations rolling.
    Doesn’t 2017 sound like the future? Happy New Year to you and yours.

    • Same to you! Yes, 2017 TOTALLY sounds like a star date to me. And, thanks! But your great reward is showing up an commenting faithfully. Seriously, you’re the singular reason I DON’T feel alone in this endeavor!

  2. Congrats! Way to go. Oh wow. No worries, you’re not a creepy old lady. I know a former anime blogger and cosplayer who’s even older than you. She’s now too weak and too sickly to continue blogging, but we still keep in touch and talk about anime and manga. Happy New Year. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

