Vampire Yaoi Round-up

After reading Vassalord I said that I might do a survey of the vampire yaoi titles out there.  I suspect there are legion, but here are five that I found (via a list by user Tavi on Mangago.)

SPOILERS

.

.

.

 

1.

How to Seduce a Vampire by Shimada Nimosaku : The best part of this longish one-shot was the Japanese language joke THAT I ACTUALLY UNDERSTOOD in the first few pages.

961ca63c4ff5dde35932dad1469a4667.jpeg

Get it?  Get it?  Because ‘byōin’ is the word for hospital, while ‘biyōin’ (very close!) is the word for beauty parlor?

My Japanese instructor kept telling to get it right or I was going to end up with a haircut instead of a bandage.  (I, meanwhile, continued to mangle nearly every word I attempted to speak in Japanese.)

Otherwise, this one is kind of a story of reincarnated love. I’m not sure.  I got bored and the sex was more BL than yaoi. Though this is the first place I came across the whole ‘blow-job can substitute for blood-drinking’ idea.

The scan is weird. It looks like someone literally laid the manga out on their scanning bed.  You get two pages at once.  I might have stuck with the story of this one more if I’d had an easier time reading it, physically.

 

2.

Vampire Kiss by Shouoto Aya : a very short one-shot, the saddest part of which is that the vampire, Kura, was playing the longest game of hide-and-seek.

0d9c40bc773129e3a77fe8974c814dca

Kura and Shuichi were besties in grade school, and the day Shuichi left town was the same day they started a game of hide-and-seek.  Shuichi’s been gone for eight years.  Kura hid in his coffin the whole time.

Sad!

I hated the art style and how young the two men were drawn, but absolutely adored that the grade-school version of Kura was super creepy and talked about how sweet the blood of virgins was, etc.  Shuichi, who thought they were playing pretend, was the only person who would play with this weirdo. Kind of adorable.

 

3.

Kyuuketsuki no Shouzou / The Vampire’s Portrait by Kuusumoto Hiroki : was actually a very good story.  In it, we have Zain (sometimes spelled Sein) who meets Lou, a young portrait artist working on the streets of Paris. Zain offers a deal: if Lou can paint his ‘true face’ then he will agree to be Lou’s patron.

d257108e73228112a6c59f69a6b8a1cd.jpeg

I think the point where this story got really fascinating to me was with the introduction of Adam. Adam and Zain have a contract. At first I figured it was just some kind of deal wherein Adam gives Zain his blood in exchange for money–something strictly business, heartless.  Turns out, Adam is actually from some Romanian family that holds the Necronomicon of vampire spell books and Adam has a spell over Zain…. and then Zain’s brother shows up wanting to die and there are mindscapes, and, I don’t even know quite why, but I found this one compelling.  The arts was okay.  The scans were a bit funky.  There was hardly any sex. Yet, I read every word.  Go figure.

But, to be fair, the writing was very tight.  The opening premise is actually 100% critical to the ending resolution.

 

4.

Kamu Otoko by Fuwa Shinri : This one is fairly ridiculous but I secretly adored it.  Setsuka is a country bumpkin who has come to the big city to find his mate.  He figures the best way to achieve this goal is to work at a Host Club.  Setsuka keeps striking out.  He can’t seem to find the right girl. Then he sees the club’s owner, Nasato, and… his ears pop out.  Yeah, turns out Setsuka is a werewolf.  In fact, he’s a very rare creature an albino honshuu wolf (the supposedly extinct Japanese wolf.)

Nataso, being a complete cad, imprisons Setsuka.

Sexy times and hilarity ensue:

9a9d0fca8d5ad61408e337e6622a59c1.jpeg

The art style on this one was… okay.  There were times I found the vampire kind of passably attractive (I liked all his ear piercings.) The doofy little werewolf was too much on the childish side of the spectrum for my personal tastes, but I was kind of amused by the whole concept of vampire/werewolf forbidden love.

This one is on-going and stops EXTREMELY abruptly.

The sex is… eh?  Okay I guess?  It’s silly and odd, but maybe I like the complete unabashed evilness of this particular vampire (first one I’ve read so far that has actual hypnosis.)

 

5.

Homemade Vampire by Naono Bohra : Finally some art I could appreciate and sex! A bunch of sex!

c8bbb66504bc004d7ff545af75c0a482.jpeg

Raito has come to live with his uncle, Harumi.  Harumi is a little put-off by this young man, especially since he seems so weirdly clingy (and GIGANTIC being half-Japanese.)  But, there’s always been attraction between these two and, in the way of yaoi, they fall into bed.

Turns out, that “foreign blood” that has Harumi all freaked out?  Well, turns out that’s not nearly as racist as it sounds.  Raito is half-vampire (a dhampyr in some circles) and that’s why he can go out in the daylight.  This weird bond they have? It was an accidental exchange of blood on the playground when much younger Harumi was watching over his nephew. (Of course it’s some kind of vampiric marriage vow.)

Anyway, I found this one cute.

As the kids say: 10/10 would recommend.

 

.

One of the things I have always enjoyed about vampire stories, actually, is how different each vampire is… all the various bits of the vampire lore that gets used or not used or changed in some way.  The puzzle of it amuses me.  I suppose that’s why I wrote as many vampire novels as I did.

At any rate, I may do another five or so more of these short reviews, just for the fun of it.

3 thoughts on “Vampire Yaoi Round-up

  1. Loved your Kamu Otoku suggestion. Did you absolutely hate ‘Tyrant Who Falls in Love’? There is a werewolf/bear dj of it ‘Aru Hi, Mori No Naka’ that I really liked. I love the ears.
    I’m sure I’ve read other vampires they all blend together unless the art is really great (I seem to vaguely remember dark characters draped in all the frills and ribbons of a new romantic boy band but with butlers and spies) so keep them coming!

    • I don’t think I actually read “Tyrant Who Falls in Love”! I’ll have to seek it out.

      Yeah, I’m surprised that there haven’t been more frills and ribbons, as it were. I’ll keep combing through these and see what’s out there. It’s kind of fun to pick a theme like this and see what I find.

  2. Tyrant is a nohomo sprayed/tsundere grad student plot. You may despise it. (!)
    I liked the real life aspect of the post-grad stuff and the complex relationship that spirals around the main characters. Crushes! Angst! Despair! Confusion! You know, as it often is. It is a secondary plot from ‘Challengers’ which I didn’t like so much. I’ll read a dj of pretty much anything. Often they add back in whatever the original plot was lacking. Anyway, back to vampires!

Leave a Reply

