Salaryman Futsumashi Okumura Yukio no Aishuu #22

So the new Ao no Exorcist spin-off is out at MangaHere.  Go check it out, and… come back and explain Japanese humor to me.

Sadly, for me, this one is a head scratcher.  I mean, it’s still got funny moments, but most of the jokes go completely over my American non-Japanese speaking head. But, I presume it’s a good chuckle like most of these mini-chapters are.

You may also have noticed that I’ve ignored the recent chapter of Attack on Titan, which has been out for several weeks now.  I *may* try to say something about it, but I have to admit that I’m losing interest.  I mean….

SPOILERS

.

.

.

…we’ve got Erwin giving up on ever getting to Eren’s basement (WHEN OMG IT’S RIGHT F*CKING THERE), and, instead, leading a suicide mission to distract the Ape Titan.

I can only imagine that the resulting effort is going to be the same as every single one of his plans of attack: failure.  I expect Erwin is going to die.  I mean, Isayama-sensei has been writing Commander Eyebrows as an odious dink lately–like, seriously cowardly and personally motivated to the point where I have lost all lingering respect for the moron.

So truthfully, I’m kind of ready for him to go out in a blaze of glory.  SO LONG AS HE DOESN’T TAKE LEVI WITH HIM.

Armin is out of ideas and nothing the ground-crew, as it were, does is working against the Colossal Titan. Armin says he’s out of ideas, random foot soldiers are reduced to weeping… OMG, I can’t even.

The only thing of interest to come out of that dismal attempt was that somehow the Armored Titan is back:

12-1.png

Which seems fairly implausible given that we saw this:

shingeki-no-kyojin-6860233

But whatever, maybe since his neck wasn’t severed he could regrow his entire brain… or maybe the Titan body was formed from his lifeless corpse and is some kind of golem.

Thing is, I don’t know, and I kind of don’t care.

I mean, there is NO story going on here.  Just a bunch of people being dismal and dying horrible, meaningless deaths.

I get that Isayaga-sensei is maybe trying to portray war the way it is: meaningless, brutal, unfair, stupid, etc.  But, the human mind abhors meaninglessness.  We will randomly attach meaning to utterly random things.  This is why there are superstitions, okay?  We like our STORIES to not only be stories, but also have a f*cking point.  Yes, real war is all the awful Isayaga is going for, but he’s also literally running rings around himself AVOIDING story that is literally right next door to the characters.

I mean, I think this is where I lost it, okay?  Levi telling Erwin to give up on the dream of making his life make sense and not even trying to send a small group of people to find out what the living f*ck is in Eren’s goddamned basement which fandom has only been waiting for f*cking ever for so much that MEMES LIKE THIS EXIST…

db7a48998b2676de2cd4977ce53ffc7302c795e15c12868e897e764c4d49264b_1.gif

At this point I would take Ouran High School Host Club as an answer, because AT LEAST IT WOULD BE AN ANSWER.

One thought on “Salaryman Futsumashi Okumura Yukio no Aishuu #22

Leave a Reply

