Gangsta. 40

If you’re a Gangsta. addict like I am, you may want to go through the hassle of downloading the scanalation of chapter 40, via http://manicpotato.tumblr.com/post/136442987269/gangsta-chapter-40-is-here-happy-new-year.

It’s a bit fussy, but you know you want to….

SPOILERS

.

.

.

P183.png

Gangsta. opens with another one of those silent, multi panel, emotion-packed pages that I really, really adore Kohske-sensei for.  We see Alex watching Worick go, reaching for him, and then pulling back to let him go… regretfully.

Then, the story flashes over to action already in progress.  We start with Galahad squaring off against one of the Destroyers.  Galahad is getting his butt kicked fairly soundly, until he notices the Tag the Destroyer is wearing/holding.

P190.png

Then, he goes ballistic.  Because: Doug.

In case, somehow, the readers have forgotten the single most tragic story in this dark, brooding story, we even get an extreme close-up of Galahad’s eye with a reflection of the mass grave all the Tags were dumped into (including Doug.  Remember his Converse sticking up among the corpses?  UGH,  my FEELS.)

Then, Hausen and other members of the Guild show up for what I’m calling ‘Operation: Revenge for Doug.’

The action shifts to the long-awaited reunion between Marco/Spaz and Striker.  I have to admit that I’m not as invested in this fight as I should be partly because the uber-violent spin-off (Gangsta: Cursed) deeply wounded my sympathy for Marco.

However, I’m looking forward to Striker getting a smack down.  He’s generally gross and unlikable and I’m super-ready for him to get his comeuppance.

Especially because of this:

P198.png

The severed arm of your lover… the gift that keeps on giving

So, you know, if Marco wants to take this guy’s head off with those little whip-like things, I won’t cry.

I would desperately like to know what Worick is up to, where he’s going, and what he’s going to do.  It’s frustrating to know that due to Kohske-sensei’s illness, we won’t know for… however long it takes.  On the other hand, I don’t want her to put something out that’s not up to her usual quality just because we’re all very invested in her fictional universe.  All I can do is pray for her speedy recovery and be grateful that, at least right now, in this moment (frozen in time for however long), everyone I love is alive.

I’m not sure that’s going to be true by the end, so I’m just as happy to savor where we are at the moment.

One thought on “Gangsta. 40

Leave a Reply

