New in WSJ — New Obata and… Boob Bombs?

Screenshot 2014-12-03 10.30.46

There’s a lot of discussion among otaku about what is going to happen to the Weekly Shōnen Jump line-up now that Naruto is finished and Bleach is scheduled to end in the near-future.

I’ve been a subscriber to Jump for several years.  To be completely honest, I keep my subscription because I feel like it’s the right thing to do to support manga distribution in this country…. and then I go off an read the fan translations because they come out a week earlier (and I can go to Tumblr without fear of spoilage.)  But, because I subscribe, this means I can access the current digital issues and read all the things.

This week’s newest offerings include the second chapter of E-Robot and a debut chapter of Gakkyu Hotei (School Judgment,) which features art by Takeshi Obata.

The single piece of information you need in order to understand everything about E-Robot, ever, is that “E” stands for “erotic.”  Here she is, with our hero, perched on her boobs:

Screenshot 2014-12-03 10.33.08

The basic storyline is that, for reasons, our hero gets stuck with this military grade robot, who, for reasons, needs to stay undercover, pretending to be human, and attend high school with him.  Hijinx ensue.

Hijinx with boob bombs–oh, excuse me “Bust Burst”:

Screenshot 2014-12-03 10.33.17

I will just say, right here, while I’m super-fine with fan service of all types, I’m not the target audience for this one.  Owning a pair myself for several decades now, I don’t  find boobs overly funny (though I probably did more when I was 12, to be fair).  I don’t find them un-funny, mind, but it’s not an automatic laugh from me if our hero has to do a double-McSqueeze-y, yet AGAIN.

But, you know, if it’s your thing, have at it.

I’ll be over here, however, hoping for something better to come along, if for no other reason that Japanese humor can be a hard sell in general, and sexual humor in specific…. but, yeah… Sadly, I don’t think the thing I’m waiting for is going to be Gakkyu Hotei, either, alas.

Screenshot 2014-12-03 10.30.51

The schtick with this one is that we’re now living in a future that’s overly-litigious (no, no, WAY more than right now!) and, in fact, it’s extended all the way down to Middle School.  So, our hero has been accused of the dismemberment and murder of Suzuki (who, spoiler! it turns out is the class fish) and now two “transfer students” show up who are star lawyers in disguise.  I enjoyed the classic fake-out with the transfer students, but this was another one where I felt like the humor was maybe lost on me a bit.  The most interesting character is the blond-bespeckled ace lawyer who seems to have come into to the world of lawyering in some backwards, non-traditional way (tragic backstory?  prodigy?  Both?)

But, again, I’m not super-fond… in this case, because I more often than not bounce out of middle school stories.  Usually, Obata’s art will do it (I’m a huge fan of Bakuman, Death Note and Hikaru no Go), but my suspenders of disbelief are stretched to near-snapping with this world… for some reason.  Which is odd considering that I roll on a regular basis with shinigami and food wars and all sorts of wild, unbelievable things… but it happens from time to time and this is one of those times.

Possibly I’m reacting so negatively to these two offerings because of what they may be replacing… and I’m a huge Bleach fan, and I’d love something of a similar caliber to step into its shoes.

Leave a Reply

