No Matter How I Look at It, I’m Not Popular and It’s All You Guys’ Fault

I decided to check out the reviews that were available on-line at OTAKU USA, and the title of this Manga was too much to resist:

Image

Which was translated as “No Matter How I Look at It, I’m Not Popular and It’s All You Guys’ Fault.”  I mean, right?  Sounds flipping’ HILARIOUS.  Plus, the reviewer used terms like “far too relatable for nerdy kids.”  This manga is apparently known as WataMote in Japanese and the description of it reads:

Kuroki Tomoko is a super popular, high school girl, who has had 50 years of dating experience, and 100 boys… in the Otome game world. In the real world, she is a 15 year old shut in, who has all of the qualities of a “mojo” (喪女, a gloomy or unpopular woman). However, when school isn’t going as she expected, and she isn’t as popular as she had thought she was, she takes a look at herself in the mirror for the first time in a few years, and has some shocking revelations..

I got… about ten pages into the first chapter before I was ready to throw it against the wall (except that I was reading it on my Mac Book Pro and that would have been…. a very EXPENSIVE temper tantrum.)  I don’t know.  Maybe this story is relatable to people who kind of hate themselves, but, while I was a complete nerd/geek in high school, I was never this… mean.  I was pathetic (which, admittedly could be very funny in it’s own awful way), but this young lady is listening to other people talk in the lunchroom and the words she uses to describe them in her head make Kuroki, to my mind, very unsympathetic.

Maybe it gets better?

You shouldn’t take my word for it.  I’m sure I quit too soon, as there are 55 chapters of Wanamote on MangaHere.  There’s also an Anime of Wanamote on Crunchyroll.  If you figure out the appeal, let me know.

 

Leave a Reply

